Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences: Professor Sabiha Essack


Mrs Sandra Naidoo

Tel: +27 31 2608019

Fax: +27 31 2607872



Professor Sabiha Essack (B. Pharm., M. Pharm., PhD), Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences and Professor in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmacology at the University of KwaZulu-Natal is a Wellcome Trust Research Fellow who completed research towards her PhD in Pharmaceutical Microbiology at St Bartholomew’s and the Royal London School of Medicine and Dentistry in the United Kingdom.

She received several prestigious scholarships and bursaries from the Wellcome Trust, Medical Research Council, National Research Foundation and the University of Durban-Westville during the course of her Masters and PhD studies.  Her research has been published in several journals and has been presented at a number of national and international conferences. 


Professor Essack began her professional career with the B. Pharm degree in 1988 and practiced as a hospital pharmacist for three years within the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Health before returning to the University of Durban-Westville in 1992 to pursue the M. Pharm degree.  She is a C-rated researcher by the NRF, has established the Antimicrobial Resistance Research Proto-Unit in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmacology and has secured several research grants for Essential National Health Research, from the World Health Organization, the Wellcome Trust, the Medical Research Council and the National Research Foundation investigating strategies for the prevention and containment of antibiotic resistance. 


Professor Essack is president of the South African Chapter of the Alliance for the Prudent Use of Antibiotics (APUA), co-founder and chair of the South African Committee of Health Sciences Deans and a Ministerial appointee on the National Health Research Ethics Council 2010-12..  She serves on the Programme Accreditation Panel of the Council for Higher Education, she is a member of the National Antibiotic Surveillance Forum, the Federation of Infectious Diseases Societies of South Africa, the Islamic Medical Association and she has served on the National Executive of the Pharmaceutical Society of South Africa. 


Professor Essack was appointed coordinator to the Africa Higher Education Collaborative, a 4-country Ford Foundation-funded initiative run by the Centre for the International Exchange of Scholars in the US, her leadership of which secured a £100 000 grant from the Mobilizing Regional Capacity Initiative Programme of the Association of African Universities to undertake research on “Access, Retention and Success in African Higher Education”.


Professor SY Essack's CV

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved